Tags

, , , , , ,

Please read Isaiah 6.

After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.


In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. 2 Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly. 3 And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is the LORD of hosts: the whole earth is full of his glory. 4 And the posts of the door moved at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke. 5 Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.

–Isaiah 6:1-5



Wherefore the Lord said, Forasmuch as this people draw near me with their mouth, and with their lips do honour me, but have removed their heart far from me…

–Isaiah 29:13, KJV

Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

The angels in heaven exist to worship You.
Their focus is solely on You.
They gather around Your throne.
They exist to hallow Your name.
They exist is to be Your messengers.
They exist to serve You.
They exist to do Your will.
Their worship of You is holy.
The praise of their lips is holy and clean.

We confess we are often not like the angels in heaven.

Their focus is solely on You.
Our focus is often on self.

They gather around Your throne.
We gather around our own thrones.

They exist to hallow Your name.
We live to hallow our own names.

They exist is to be Your messengers.
We forget we are commissioned to be Your messengers.

They exist to serve You.
We are self-serving.

They exist to do Your will.
We insist on doing our will not Yours.

Their worship is holy.
Our worship is unholy.

The praise of their lips is holy and clean.
The praise of our lips is unholy and unclean.

Though we often come near You in our external worship, our hearts are often far from You.

When we see You as the God who is Holy, Holy, Holy, when we see Your glory and when we see the angels’ pure worship of You we cannot help but cry,

5 Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.

6 Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar: 7 And he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged.

Thank You, O merciful and gracious God, that You sent the Lord Jesus Christ to atone for our sin. We come once again and confess we are men of unclean lips and we dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips. We thank You that You are faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. We thank You that our iniquity is taken away and our sin purged. It is only then we hear Your voice like Isaiah did.

8 Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me.

Holy Father,

By the blood of Jesus You have cleansed and forgiven us. You have given us new hearts. You circumcise our hearts to do Your will here on earth as it is in heaven. You have given us new hearts so our worship might be holy. You open our ears to hear Your call. You open our ears to be Your servants forever. You open our hearts so we might bend our knees and necks to you like Isaiah did. You open our mouths to say, “Here am I; send me.”

Holy, Holy, Holy God,

May we worship You here on earth like the angels do in heaven
May our focus be solely on You, not us.
May we gather around Your throne, not ours.
May we hallow Your name, not ours.

You have saved us to be Your messengers, not to give out our message
You have saved us to serve You, not ourselves
You have saved us to do Your will, not ours.
You have saved us to render holy worship to You, not ourselves.

May we gather around Your throne with genuine heart worship, not merely lip service.
May the praise of our lips and our lives be holy and clean and acceptable to You.

When we hear Your voice may we offer ourselves to You like Isaiah did.
“Here am I; send me.”

Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

Come now before the God who is holy, holy, holy. Ask Him to show Your more of His glory.
May His will be done in each of us here on earth as it is around His throne in heaven.